Save a Tree, Trade and Get Books for Free

If you’re anything like me you’ve got a pile of books that you read once and wish you never bought in the first place, old school books and childhood books that your never going to use again. I’ve tried selling books on Amazon and eBay but usually I find that it costs me more to ship them then the people are willing to pay for them. Not exactly a win win situation when you want the cash to buy a new book.

A few years ago my sister told me about PaperBackSwap.com which is a place where users can post books they no longer want, earn points and request books that other people are trying to get rid. All books are swapped using a point based system and pretty much relies on the honestly of others. I was skeptical at first but decided to give it a chance seeing as I had nothing to lose except a few books I didn’t really want anymore anyway.

Four years later I’m still hooked! According to the site I have saved almost $80 in books which is great. But what I love the most is that I’m able to keep track of books I’ve read, books I want to read and find books that I never knew existed.

After setting up an account you can browse tons of books from numerous genres including new books, create a “wish list” of books that you’re dying to get your hands on, post any book you’re trying to get rid of (as long as it is in reasonable condition) and make friend connections. When someone requests one of your books, all you have to do is wrap it up in the shipping label that PaperBackSwap provides for you and pay the media mail shipping price. Once the recipient gets the book, they record it on the site and you earn a point to request a book for yourself. All in all it’s a very simple process and in the four years I have used the site, I have never once had an issue with people being dishonest or trying to scam for more points.

If you’ve got even one book that you don’t want, I suggest you check it out. The banner below will take you directly to PaperBackSwap.com to get started. What have you got to lose? The way I look at is that the media mail shipping price that I pay to mail someone a book, is much cheaper than the price of 95% of the books I’ve requested from people and gotten for free using the points I earned from mailing a book.

Happy Reading!
Trade Books for Free - PaperBack Swap.

2 thoughts on “Save a Tree, Trade and Get Books for Free

  1. Oh, this site sounds perfect! I have a bag of books I need to get rid of (not enough space where I live) so I’ll have to try this site out. Can’t hurt, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

